Ian Neilson

As acting executive mayor, Ian Neilson holds the full authority of the mayoral seat.

Neilson oversaw the City’s first Air Pollution Bylaw and rolled out the mother-to-child antiretroviral programme, a revolutionary treatment for HIV patients.

The Mayor served as the executive deputy mayor for the last nine years, he was a city councillor for 22 years, and has been involved in the leadership of numerous administrations.

Whilst at the helm of the Finance portfolio, he saw the City of Cape Town receive 10 clean audits!

He holds a Master’s degree in Civil Engineering from UCT, and spent 20 years as a consulting engineer primarily in the fields of water supply planning and design and flood studies.

Neilson holds the lead role in directing the City of Cape Town’s response to the worst-recorded drought in history, with Mayoral Committee Member of Water and Waste Services, Xanthea Limberg’s, support.

 




Mayoral Committee Members


Name Role Contact info

Ald Ian Nielson

Acting Executive Mayor

Telephone:
021 400 1306

Email:
ian.neilson@capetown.gov.za

Cllr Benedicta Van Minnen

Human Settlements

Telephone:
021 400 1307

Email:
benedicta.vanminnen@capetown.gov.za

Cllr Brett Herron

Transport for Cape Town

Telephone:
021 400 1298

Email:
brett.herron@capetown.gov.za

Cllr Ald Ernest Sonnenberg

Utility Services

Telephone:
021 400 1206

Email:
ernest.sonnenberg@capetown.gov.za

Cllr Eddie Andrews

Tourism, Events and Economic Development

Telephone:
021 400 1375

Email:
eddie.andrews@capetown.gov.za

Cllr Ald JP Smith

Safety and Security

Telephone:
021 400 1311

Email:
jean-pierre.smith@capetown.gov.za

Cllr Johan van der Merwe

Energy, Environmental and Spatial Planning

Telephone:
021 400 1304

Email:
johannes.vandermerwe@capetown.gov.za

Cllr Xanthea Limberg

Corporate Services and Compliance

Telephone:
021 400 1379

Email:
xanthea.limberg@capetown.gov.za

Cllr Suzette Little

Social Development and Early Childhood Development

Telephone:
021 400 1221

Email:
suzette.little@capetown.gov.za

Cllr Siyabulela Mamkeli

Health

Telephone:
021 400 1290

Email:
siyabulela.mamkeli@capetown.gov.za

Cllr Anda Ntsodo

Community Services

Telephone:
021 400 1314

Email:
anda.ntsodo@capetown.gov.za