Eleanore Bouw-Spies

Executive Mayor Eleanore Bouw-Spies is the executive and political leader, as well as the social and ceremonial head, of the Knysna Municipality. She is the DA’s Ward 5 councillor too.

Eleanore was born and raised in Knysna, attending the Rheenendal Primary School and later the Knysna Secondary School before obtaining her BA Degree and a Higher Diploma in Education from the University of the Western Cape. Eleanore has more than 16 years of political experience.

She started her career as a public representative on the Knysna Council in 2000. She quickly moved up the ranks and became a member of the mayoral committee, moving on to become deputy mayor and eventually the executive mayor of Knysna from 2007 to 2011.

In 2011 she decided to take a break from politics for three years, during which time she served as a hospice board director and honorary Rotarian. She busied herself with numerous community projects over the years, many of which focused on sports development and education.

Following the sad death of the Ward 5 councillor, Magda Williams in 2014, Eleanore was asked to consider standing as the DA Ward 5 candidate during the ensuing by-election. She won the elections and re-entered the political arena.

As this ward’s councillor, she concentrated on alleviating the many problems that her community faced as a result of extreme poverty, drug and alcohol abuse and inadequate services. While serving as the Ward 5 councillor she was also appointed as speaker of the council.

With a legacy of impressive leadership positions, she is described by colleagues as a “force of nature”. Eleanore is adamant that, under her watch, the Knysna Municipality will continue to protect the South African Constitution and provide clean and effective governance, promoting freedom, fairness, and opportunity for all.

Mayoral Committee Members

Name Role Contact info

Eleanore Bouw-Spies

Executive Mayor

Office Tel: 044 302 6580
Cell: 076 519 4485
Email: cbezuidenhoudt@knysna.gov.za

Velile Waxa

Planning & Integrated Human Settlements

Levael Davids

Chairperson: Technical Services

Cathy Weideman

Chairperson: Community Services