DA-led Governments

Since the 2016 Local Government Elections, around 16 million South Africans experience some form of DA governance. In addition to the Western Cape Province, the DA currently governs in 33 municipalities. These include South Africa’s legislative capital, Cape Town; the administrative capital, Tshwane; our economic centre, Johannesburg; and the city named after our democracy’s founding father, Nelson Mandela Bay.

Governing these four metros means that the DA, and its various coalition governments, now controls R139.5 billion worth of public money. We control more money in South Africa’s major cities than the ANC does – and we plan to spend it wisely.

DA-led Governments


The ability to work is key to personal dignity.The DA is committed to creating opportunities, like jobs, so that people can improve their lives and provide for their families. To do this we will create a supportive environment where businesses want to invest, grow, and hire more people.

WATCH this video to see how we already deliver on this promise where we govern, and the kind of CHANGE we can bring to the communities that vote for us.