Marius Koen

Executive Mayor Marius Koen has been a member of the DA since 2000. He was originally a member of the DP on the West Coast.

Marius first got into politics as a businessman, working in retail and property. He is passionate about community and social upliftment so it didn’t take long before he became the chairperson of the Langebaan Tourism Bureau, Chamber of Commerce and Community Police Forum. His appointment to these positions came at a time when the community wanted younger council representatives.

He is the youngest son of a developer, his father was solely responsible for the establishment and development of Table View, as it is today. He developed it into one of the fastest growing neighbourhoods by buying all the vacant land and developing it into residential and commercial opportunities. In the late 70’s, Marius’ family relocated to Langebaan permanently, and within a short time, his father had started to develop Langebaan from a small fishing village into a massive tourism town.

Marius followed in his father’s footsteps and worked as a councillor, before being elected executive mayor of Saldanha Bay Municipality. He was a ward councillor in Langebaan from 1996 to 2011 and a Mayoral Committee (MayCo) member for Technical Services. From 2011 to 2016 he was a MayCo member in the West Coast District Municipality for Economic Development and Tourism.

After matriculating from Durbanville Secondary School, Marius got a BAdmin Degree in Public Administration and Industrial Psychology from Stellenbosch University. He also has an Estate Agency NQF 5 Qualification and an MBA.

Marius likes to travel in his spare time. His motto in life is to always remain focused on what it is you’re trying to accomplish.

Marius aims to help Saldanha Bay Municipality become a place that excels in economic development, has a strong focus on youth development, is tech-driven and provides superior customer service to all its residents.




Mayoral Committee Members


Name Role Contact info

Marius Koen

Executive Mayor

022 701 7103
mayor@sbm.gov.za

Eventhia Vaughan

Deputy Mayor

022 701 7004
Eventhia.Vaughan@sbm.gov.za

Olwene Daniels

Speaker

022 701 7192
Olwene.Daniels@sbm.gov.za

Elize Steyn

Economic Development & Strategic Services

022 701 7093
Elize.Steyn@sbm.gov.za

Andries Venter

Financial Services

022 701 6980
Andries.Venter@sbm.gov.za

Sucilla van Tura

Community & Operational Services

022 701 7176
Sucilla.Vantura@sbm.gov.za

Sinah Mohale

Corporate & Public Safety Services

022 701 7181
Sinah.Mohale@sbm.gov.za

Andre Kruger

Infrastructure & Planning Services

022 701 7006
Andre.Kruger@sbm.gov.za